Monday April 7 – Sunday April 13: Weekly Wrap-Up

Before I dig in to this post (this post got to be much longer than I had planned), here’s the final wrap-up for the week. I know I usually put them at the end, but maybe it’s better up top? Top of mind vs. out of sight, out of mind 😉

Weekly Swim: 10,200 yards (5.8 miles)

Weekly Bike: 0 – I obviously gave up on the stationary bike a few months ago.

Weekly Run: 8.4 miles

Total Distance Swam: 553,292 yards (314 miles)

I’ll be honest, the last thing I want to do right now is write a blog post. Although it literally involves me sitting on my couch, with my laptop in my lap, just moving my fingers (literally, I’m not even holding my head up), and eating Reese’s Peanut Butter cups, I don’t want to do this right now. I. Am. Beat. But not because I did a bunch of hard workouts this weekend or anything overly strenous. On the contrary. Saturday and Sunday both ended up being rest days because we literally did nothing but pig out. The only “exercise” type thing I did this weekend was walk to the ball park and back. 3 mile walk!

Well, that’s not entirely true. I did get a new bike this weekend!

20140413_194144

And yes, that is Christmas wrapping paper behind my bike. I don’t have anywhere to put it, and we’re moving in a few months anyway.

I’ll be honest, I know very little about bikes. I don’t know what size I am, I know nothing about components, very little about frames. The little bit that I do know about frames is this: I currently own a road bike made of the world’s heaviest metal that is much too big for me (not height wise but I reach SO far), and an aluminum frame is much lighter than that, and that a carbon frame is much lighter than an aluminum frame, but probably out of my price range.

We literally went out on Saturday just to take a look-see at some bikes, maybe figure out what size I am, maybe come home and do some online shopping, see if we could find some deals. We ended up at one bike shop where I got sized and fitted, test rode some bikes, and purchased the one pictured above. Probably my favorite thing about it are the gear shifters – ON THE BRAKES. I literally can shift with a light tap of my fingers. When you go from this (do you see those awesome levers? Talk about dangerous when you’re racing and trying to shift):

Look at those sweet levers. Totally awesome to shift while you’re trying to sprint.

 

 

To this:

Look at that little lever! Flick the little lever to shift up, tap the brake and little lever in to shift down. GENIUS.

 

It makes a world of a difference. Not to mention the difference just in the frame alone. I test drove three bikes – an all-aluminum frame, an aluminum frame with carbon forks to the tires, and an all-carbon frame – and you could definitely tell the difference. Just between the all-aluminum and aluminum with carbon forks, the ride was significantly smoother…and then I hopped on the all-carbon frame, and I was hooked. I was going to get the aluminum frame with carbon forks because the all-carbon frame was just a bit out of my price range, but Dylan, the love of my life, offered to help me out with the bike. So we’ll see if I take him up on it, or if I just suck it up and empty my savings account 🙂

I will admit, I probably should have done a little more research on the types of frames, types of bikes, but when it came down to it, this bike just felt right. So we can add “learn more about bikes” to my list of things to do to be a better triathlete. I will also admit, maybe these “features” have been around and I am just so behind on the times that I probably sound really silly right now.

On a side note: it was very clear how badly I need my inhaler, and how badly I need to start bike training again. I got way too winded from test driving those bikes – I skipped my inhaler Saturday morning!

All in all though, I think this was a good week, in terms of workouts. I didn’t get the runs in that I would have liked to, but then again, that’s basically the story of my life. Let’s be honest – when was the last time I created a training plan, and then stuck to it? I tell myself over and over again to sit down and put some effort in to a training plan, but it all goes to hell the next day when I have to work late. I clearly need a new strategy.

The real problem is that I just don’t know how or what other types of workouts to be doing for running and biking – aside from long endurance runs/rides or short sprint runs/rides. It’s pretty easy to add some variety to my swim workouts – I can focus on sprint, I can focus on endurance, I can focus on freestyle, I can focus on non-free. It’s pretty easy for me to go in search of what I’m looking for, because I understand how to train for swimming. I started swimming competitively when I was 5. It’s second nature at this point.

But when it comes to weight lifting, running, and biking…not so much. Sure, I did a couple years of cross country in high school, we did “dry land” during swim season, and what kid doesn’t have a bike? But I have no idea what kind of workouts to focus on. Granted, I know how to do an interval run or do intervals on the bike, but I really only do those when I’m on the treadmill or a stationary bike because then I control my pace better. However, when I’m outside, it’s really just a straight run that I feel out while I’m doing it – if I feel good, I run faster or further, and if I feel crappy, I run slower or a shorter distance. And don’t even get me started on weight lifting – that’s it’s own sort of s*** show of standing in the middle of the free weights, being all like….

 

 

But then I have to wonder – maybe it’s not so bad just to focus on distance vs. sprint, and see what ends up happening? Maybe I don’t need to create “special” workouts, but instead, just focus on what I’m feeling and focus on building endurance and building speed. All of this seems to be working for me now – plus, it’s not like I’m trying to get in to the Olympics.

We’ll see. I think it just involves a lot of research, and seeing how it feels. I imagine doing a “special” workout would involve a lot more planning and commitment, which is something I already struggle with.

So we can just add that to the “to-do” list and I’ll keep you posted on that!

One thought on “Monday April 7 – Sunday April 13: Weekly Wrap-Up

Leave a Reply

