March 31 – April 6, 2014: Weekend Round-Up

Well, this was definitely a successful weekend, and a (mostly) successful work week! Here’s what made it a successful week:

  • No mental breakdowns at work, or after work
  • Successful inspection of our pending new home
  • Found and purchased the perfect wedding dress (without any tears!)
  • Three of the five work days included at least one work out
  • Worked out both Saturday and Sunday – included a 6:30am wake-up on Saturday (!) and a long run today

I know I’ve talked before about how difficult it can be to get workouts in on the weekends. For most of us, it’s the only time we can get a good, solid workout in, but because it’s the two of the weeks we don’t have to work, they can be so jam-packed with activities, or you can be so exhausted from the work week that you just don’t want to bother.

Well, this weekend was no different – this weekend was wedding dress shopping weekend, and my little sister Molly was in town Thursday night – Sunday, and my parents were in town for Saturday. Having Molly in town is kind of nice – I can drag her along for any workout I want, and she’s always game for just about everything. So we took it easy on Friday – I worked a half day in the morning, and then she tagged along for our house inspection in the afternoon. We got up early Saturday morning (6:30!) to go to the gym, which we planned on doing a run and a lift. We did our run, then bailed on the lift, mostly because I knew someone there and didn’t want to look like a dinkus in front of him trying to lift. I know I shouldn’t care, but I’m still extremely self-conscious about lifting in front of a bunch of men (feel free to refer back to my post from about a year ago about weight lifting!). We then spent the rest of the day wedding dress shopping, which was successful since I found a dress!

This morning, we woke up, and originally, Molly and I had planned to go for a run. Instead, Molly, Dylan, and I walked to brunch and went shoe shopping. After dropping Molly off to meet her ride back to Madison, Dylan went to go see a movie, and I cleaned the apartment and went out for a run.

I’ve mentioned before that I was considering not signing up for the Hot Cocoa 15K – the 9-mile race in a few weeks that I had my sights set on a few months ago. The 15K, scheduled for April 19th, has been haunting me – I’ve been putting off signing up for it for a number of reasons, but mostly because I haven’t been able to get out on the road and get mileage in that I want to. I’ve had crappy runs, I’ve been stuck on the treadmill, and I was doubting my ability to actually run that distance – regardless of whether or not I was racing it.

Well, today I ran 7.6 miles outside, and could have kept going, had my knees not been bugging me. I attribute my success to the ability to monitor my heart rate during my run – that heart rate monitor really has been a life saver in helping me set a decent pace for long runs. It helps me figure out where I need to be to make the distance, and I’m looking forward to more triathlon-focused training and using it to get my speed up for the 5K and 10K distances. So as soon as I got home, I hopped online and signed up for the Minneapolis Hot Chocolate 15K! Of course I signed up before looking at the course map – and discovered after signing up that although it will be a BEAUTIFUL run up and down the Mississippi, it includes a brutal bunch of hills in the last 1.5 – 2 miles. Oh well!

All in all – a successful weekend. So here’s the grand total for this week:

Weekly Swim: 4.75 miles (8,350 yards)

Weekly Run: 16 miles

Total Distance Swam: 542,904 yards (308.5 miles) – 28% towards 2,000,000 yards!

(the map isn’t working for some reason, otherwise I would include it!)

One thought on “March 31 – April 6, 2014: Weekend Round-Up

  1. Very good job with your run and with you run/swim mileage for the week!! I always enjoy your posts because I run and swim each week, too!! It’s a great combo!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

