3.16.14 Indoor Triathlon!

Dylan and I did our indoor triathlon today. For both of us, it was our first time doing an indoor triathlon – it was Dylan’s first EVER, and my third triathlon that I’ve done.

The YWCA of Minneapolis hosted the event, and provided three different lengths:

  1. Mini-Sprint: 400-yard swim/8-mile bike/1-mile run
  2. Sprint: 500-yard swim/10-mile bike/2-mile run
  3. Mega-sprint: 600-yard swim/12-mile bike/5K (3.1-mile run)

The swim takes place in the lap pool, the bike on stationary bikes, and the run around the indoor track.

Dylan and I did the mini-sprint; we thought it would be a good introduction for him, so he could decide if he wanted to do a regular sprint triathlon in the summer (with similar distances to the “mega-sprint” above). I did the mini-sprint because I didn’t want to sit on a stationary bike for that long, and I didn’t want to run around the track for 3 miles. He’s definitely in for a full sprint triathlon, so more triathlon training, here we come!!

Here are our final results:

indoor triathlon resultsI’ve decided to try mapping out my workout plan again; I don’t know how well it’ll work, but we’ll see how this week goes. Dylan and I are the middle of buying a home, and I think we’re going to have to spend a bunch of week nights viewing houses. We are trying to move into a place by the end of July, and we just don’t have that much time to view houses and make an offer on something. It keeps our weeks a little in flux, but with the 15K Hot Cocoa race coming up in April, and wanting to swim the mileage that I need to (since that’s the point of this blog), I have to do something! Luckily, it is FINALLY getting nice out, which means that instead of having to plan a second trip to the gym, I just come home, change in to my clothes, and hit the road!

(And by road, I mean sidewalk, because running in the road in the city isn’t safe).

So here’s this week’s plan:

3.16-3.22

 

One thought on “3.16.14 Indoor Triathlon!

Leave a Reply

