1.7.14 Daily Swim Workout

No masters practice today, so took down this workout from Kiefer (the long version, not the short), totaling 4900 yards. I was going to get to the gym when it opened – 5:45am – and I was going to swim for at least an hour and a half. I figured I could get through the workout, or most of it, with some slight modifications.

Well, I didn’t leave the house until 6:30, in the pool by 6:45am. When I started swimming, my shoulder started hurting, probably because I lifted more weight than I should have last night. So again – some more changes.

Using the workout I planned on doing as a guide and taking into account how my shoulder was feeling, here’s the workout I ended up doing. I kept it at a medium to medium hard pace – trying not to push myself on days that are Masters days. Also incorporated some non-freestyle strokes into the workout (see: 25’s IM order and 10 x 75’s).

600 warm-up (100 swim, 100 kick, 100 pull; repeat twice)
10 x 100 free; 1:35 interval (about 10 seconds rest)200 kick
12 x 25 IM order, :05 rest interval
10×75 (odds: 50 back, 25 free; evens: 50 breast, 25 free); :10 rest interval
300 easy (100 kick, 100 pull, 100 swim)

Total: 3,150 yards; 1 hour

2 thoughts on “1.7.14 Daily Swim Workout

    • Thanks Robin! Kiefer is one of my favorite places to get my swim gear, and I’m so grateful they have workouts. I’ve tried other places, but Kiefer always has workouts that are more my style – similar to a Masters workout, AND I get the option of a short or a long version!

Leave a Reply

