Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins – revamped

A few years ago, a friend of mine made me pumpkin chocolate chip muffins – the ingredients were literally pumpkin puree, cake mix, and mini chocolate chips. They were dense and delicious – but I forgot about the recipe until about a year ago, when I found the recipe popping up on Pinterest.

I made them myself for the first time in November, when I went to Michigan to help my sister with my two-year-old niece when her second daughter arrived. Sara had told me that Fiona loves baking, so I thought it would be a fun activity. Turns out, the girl loves pumpkin puree…and chocolate chips…and frosting. So much so that she accidentally spilled half the muffins on the floor trying to lick the frosting from the tops. Whoops!

IMAG1363

Licking raw pumpkin off the spoon.

IMAG1372

Before they all fell on the ground.

I decided to make them for myself again tonight as a quick treat while I’m at work, but with some modifications. Dylan didn’t seem jazzed about the pumpkin part, so I made a batch “normal” so he could try them as they were originally meant to be.

Ingredients – “Normal” Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins*

1 15 oz can pumpkin puree (not pumpkin pie filling, but I’ve yet to see a can specifically labeled pumpkin pie filling)

1 box of cake mix (I used vanilla, but might try chocolate next time)

Mini chocolate chips (to your liking)

Mix it all together; spoon into a muffin tin and bake like normal cupcakes (so whatever the box says!)

Dylan’s final verdict: “They’re pretty tasty.”

*I lied about them being normal; I remembered that I did, in fact, put protein powder and milk in with the first batch.

IMG_2342

Pumpkin and cake mix…and protein powder.

Ingredients – “Modified” Pumpkin Chocolate Muffins

In addition to normal, here’s a list of what I added

  • Vanilla protein powder
  • Coconut flakes (they’re sitting in my cupboard)
  • Sunflower seeds
  • A couple tablespoons of milk (I figure more ingredients, a little more liquid won’t hurt

Final verdict on the modified ones: Good, if you like coconut 🙂

IMG_2345

The final product…sans sunflower seeds and coconut.

One thought on “Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins – revamped

Leave a Reply

