First Long Run…Followed by a Pinterest Dessert

Yesterday, I took my first long run of the year – it’s part of the made-up triathlon training plan I had in my head. I almost went for a swim, but I figured I’ve already gone all week without swimming, one more day wouldn’t hurt – plus, the plan in my head tells me that weekends are for long runs. It was incredibly hard to get myself outside to run – it was like 40 degrees, I didn’t do it first thing when I woke up (at 11:30 that morning), and D and I were having an incredibly lazy day. The thought of staying in my pajamas and blowing off this run was way more appealing than hauling myself outside and freezing my butt off as I slowly ran around the lakes.

I made myself do it though – I got motivated to go when D stepped out to go get quarters to do the mountain of laundry hanging out in my bedroom. It’s amazing how quickly I got motivated when he wasn’t around to convince me to stay on the couch and watch TV with him. Once he was back and I told him the route I was going to do, he didn’t think I could do it, so then I went for my run just to prove a point. I did in fact run the route that I had planned; it was 50 minutes long, for a total of 5.6 miles. I was incredibly proud of myself for two reasons. 1) for making it that far in one solid shot and 2) for doing it without walking – at all! It makes me feel really confident in my ability to run the 6 miles after all the other crap I have to do.

I think the hardest part of the run wasn’t the distance, but not having music to distract me from the how far I still had to run, how far I had already run, how sore my calves were, and all the other random thoughts going through my head. I know I won’t be able to have my music when I run, but I’ve always been that person who ran with headphones – even if it was a short 2-miler. So far it’s been a smooth transition of running without the headphones, but I’m waiting for the day when it doesn’t. The one positive is that I’m not running to the beat – so I’m running a pace that I can hold for longer distances.

I just wish I had a running buddy. I need constant companionship.

I followed yesterday’s run by making a Pinterest dessert: birthday cake seven layer bars. My teeth hurt while I was making it. Seriously, it ended up just being a big-ass brownie covered in candy and cookies. IT WAS DELICIOUS. I did have to modify the recipe slightly.

I asked Dylan to pick me up Funfetti cake mix, because I forgot to buy it when I went grocery shopping on Friday. He ended up buying me Funfetti brownie pop mix, so we made do with it, and just had the base of the bars be one big ass brownie. I used this and followed the instructions on the website for the regular recipe; it was pretty soupy, so I mixed in some graham cracker crust into it. Still tasted like a brownie!

This worked just fine.

This worked just fine.

The brownie baked for like 15 minutes – then it was piling on ALL THE CRAP. The only thing I didn’t toss in there was the “Cupcake Bites” – I have no idea what those are and wasn’t going to spend a lot of time looking for it. I also added in butterscotch chips, because I’ve recently grown fond of this treat.

Marshmallows...followed by white chocolate, milk chocolate and butterscotch chips...then fun candy sprinkles...then chocolate and white birthday cake Oreos. Top with a can of sweetened condensed milk.

Marshmallows…followed by white chocolate, milk chocolate and butterscotch chips…then fun candy sprinkles…then chocolate and white birthday cake Oreos. Top with a can of sweetened condensed milk.

Baked that mess up for another 15 minutes, for this golden treat (I’m not a food photographer, ok?):

D says this looks sort of like throw-up.

D says this looks sort of like throw-up.

I had two servings last night. It was delicious, if you like incredibly sweet treats.

Sidenote: I really need a bigger kitchen.

 

I need a bigger kitchen.

This is the amount of counter space I get to work with. I always unplug the toaster before I put my tablet up there.

Leave a Reply

