Triathlons and Races

Last night, I went over to the boyfriend’s house to play card games with his roommate. I ended up staying way later than I had originally planned, and slept in and skipped master’s practice. I still went in and swam this morning, but didn’t hop in until 8:00…which meant I didn’t start working until 10. I haven’t decided if I like starting that late, or if I like starting earlier. And by earlier I mean at a normal time.

But the topic of bucket lists came up and both the boyfriend and I were asked about ours. To be honest, I’ve never put much thought into it. There’s the usual things – travel, see the world…but aside from that, I think the only thing solid on my bucket list was a triathlon.

Which I did already.

185000_10102332207953500_1348126950_n

I know I want to do longer road races – like a 10K or maybe a 10 mile – but a marathon isn’t on my bucket list. That’s just too long. I know it’s on some, but it’s not on mine. So I need to start a bucket list.

While I was swimming this morning, I decided today what I want my races this summer to be, and am adding two of the three to my bucket list:

  • 1-mile open water swim
  • Sprint distance triathlon
  • Olympic distance triathlon

After doing my first triathlon, I think I fell in love with it. And I knew after the sprint one I wanted to try the next longest one…the Olympic distance. A sprint triathlon is a 1/2 mile swim, 12-15 mile bike, and 3.1 mile run; depending on the sprint triathlon, the distances can be fudged a little bit. An Olympic distance one is 1 mile run, 25 mile bike, and a 6.2 mile run. So I figure if I set my training goals for the Olympic distance, I should be okay.

But it definitely means two a days. And being committed to two-a-days. Because I don’t know how else I’ll be able to do it.

I got to work today at 10, and put in a 9.5 hour day. I usually end up bringing second workout clothes and a dinner-type meal to work when I want to do a two-a-day, but most of the time bail on the second workout. Because I’m tired and there’s happy hour or something way more fun going on.

I did end up going straight to the gym tonight and got in weight training, my Pinterest ab workout, and a 2 mile run on the treadmill in. All in all, an hour at the gym. But now it’s 10:30, I inhaled a bunch of candy bars, and I still have to shower, get lunch and clothes ready for tomorrow, and get to bed at a decent time since I have 6:15 cycling class with a friend.

So off to bed for me.

Leave a Reply

