Hard Monday Workout

Typically, a one-hour master’s swim practice workout in the morning will total between 2600-2800 yards. Depending on the coach, the workout can go up to 2900-3100 yards. To put it in to perspective, one mile in the pool is 1760 yards – or I’ll just round up to 1800 yards to make it easy on myself.

So if one mile is 1800, a half mile is 900, a quarter mile is 450.

So typical one-hour swim practices are about 1.5 – 1.75 miles.

Today’s swim practice was 3500 yards. If you’re doing the real math, it’s 1.99 miles.

Again – if you’re doing the math, that’s asking someone to tack on an additional 12.5 – 25% on top of their normal workout, or really, asking someone to tack on an additional 12.5 – 25% on top of a long workout. So just thinking about my friend who is a professional distance runner, her long runs are about 18 miles. If you were to add on that additional percentage, that would be like asking her to run another 2.25-4.5 miles on to her already hard, long run. I’m pretty sure she wouldn’t want to. Even though when she tells me about her workouts, it kind of sounds like she does – between forgetting her GPS watch or just getting lost…

I digress.

In the end, it was a great (but hard) workout, but I already did a long workout yesterday (3775 yards), so it just beat me up today. Yesterday’s workout was two consecutive [modified] broken miles, with a two-minute rest in between the two. A normal broken mile in swimming would be (with increasing intensity as the distance gets shorter):

11 lengths – 15 second rest
10 lengths – 15 second rest
9 lengths – 15 second rest
8 lengths – 15 second rest7 lengths – 10 second rest
6 lengths – 10 second rest
5 lengths – 10 second rest
4 lengths – 10 second rest (fast)
3 lengths – 5 second rest (fast)
2 lengths – 5 second rest (sprint)
1 length (sprint)

For my first broken mile, I added an additional set – 12 lengths – and then picked up with the normal broken mile. I’d like to keep going in on the weekends and doing these longer workouts – my goal is to be doing between 4000-5000 for these longer workouts – because it helps get my yardage/mileage up for my overall goal, but I think will be a great way to train for open water swims. The ones I’ve been looking at are anywhere between 1-3 miles per race. As a sprinter, my normal race distance is between 50-200 yards, so it is a VERY different way to train. But it also gives me an opportunity to start shooting for a longer-distance triathlon. The next distance up would by the Olympic distance which includes a 1.5 mile swim, 25 mile bike, and a 6.2 mile run. I really need a new bike…and I really need to be running more…

After my morning workout, I came home to shower and get ready for work – and ended up choosing to work from home. Which was good, because I definitely took a nap at about 11:00.

Training is hard. For example, I should go in and do weight training tonight – in one of my more recent posts, I talked about doing that. But guess what? I won’t be. Instead, I’ll be going to a movie. A lot of this training requires two a days and long weekend workouts – the two things that I really suck at. Mostly because my evenings fill up, I suck at holding consistent work hours, and I do not have the discipline to go to the gym in the evening. I wish I had a home gym so I could weight train here…but I really like the machines at the gym. I also wish it was warm out so I could run in the evenings, but it sounds like Snowmageddon, Part II is coming to Minneapolis. And now that I’ve been swimming, the likelihood of me running outside if it’s windy and colder than 40 degrees is pretty minimal.

It’s a hard balance to maintain, especially when the reward for training and competing is purely intrinsic, with no extrinsic reward – it’s not like I’m winning a cash prize. Although I probably would race faster at anything if someone had warm brownies with caramel waiting for me at the end. Or this: I would swim, bike, and run very fast for this delicious dessert:

Leave a Reply

