Day 1 – 7 moves, 6 pack, 30 days

OK, for starts – my Pinterest board with all my exercise pins.

Today would be uhm – well day 4 since I started on Sunday. I didn’t do it on Monday, so today is the LEGIT first day that I tried this exercise pin out. And yes, I did go swim early this morning (2,750 yards).

This is my overall feeling on this exercise:

I would say this one is definitely worth pinning for later and/or adding to your routine. But here’s my experience with it, and how I’ll be modifying it.

They recommend doing the 7 moves (some are repeated three times, some are repeated only twice) two to three non-consecutive days of the week. So this works out well with my MWF “lifting” routine. The whole thing took me about 30 minutes to complete to start to finish – it’ll probably take me less time next time because I won’t be flopping around trying to figure out how to do things. Instead of repeating one move three times, then the next move, I went through all 7 moves, then repeated all 7 moves, then did the 3 moves that are repeated a third time – so moved cyclically through the moves so that I wasn’t getting sore from just repeating 1 exercise.

I didn’t have a “plank” for Move 2, so I just alternated between 2-hand and 1-hand planks, holding for 3-5 seconds. Your wrists get sore. Just a warning.

Move 3 was a b****. It says to start with 10 pound weights. LIES. I started with 5. On the second round, I moved to 4. On the final round, I did 3 and will be sticking with that.

This sucked.

Move 4 was also a b****. It’s better if you read the instructions and see they want you to hold the leaning position, but your quads are going to burn like fire.

This sucked too. I felt it all in my legs, none in my abs.

At first, I was intimidated by Move 6, mostly because I didn’t think I had the coordination to pull it off. But it was actually my favorite one out of all 6.

  1. Terrifying on paper, not bad in real life.

     

Afterwards, I did a quick 1.25 mile run on the treadmill, and then did some arm weights.

So I feel like I have to document progress on this exercise, so here’s Day 1 – baseline. I’ll post pictures each week for the next month.

Oh hey, scoliosis.

Oh hey, scoliosis.

Then I came home to tackle my dessert challenge: Day 4 of birthday cake. Don’t worry, I ate the corner piece with all the frosting balloons. It was delish.

I'm saving the misspelled name corner piece for last.

I’m saving the misspelled name corner piece for last.

Leave a Reply

