Sunday February 3, 2013

Super Bowl Sunday. Today, D and I will be watching the Super Bowl with some friends of ours, enjoying the gluttony that is a Super Bowl party. No shame.

This week, I’ve been in the process of getting sick – working my way towards a head cold, which culminated today. While my body feels better (not as achy), my head does not, but I will take the stuffiness over the achiness any day. In addition, I spent Wednesday and Thursday night helping out a family I used to nanny for, staying overnight while the mom is out of town. Finally, work this week has been ridiculous – late nights, early mornings, all day marathons, trying to get a database up and running in the next few weeks.

So what this really means is that I’ve only worked out once this week. On Monday, I went in to practice and got to relieve some of the excitement from the meet, sharing results with other teammates. Come Tuesday morning, I just was not feeling up to it – dizziness and achiness, and decided that one day wouldn’t hurt. That one day turned into the rest of the week, and I don’t feel bad about it. I think considering the marathon of work that’s been happening and being on the edge of sickness, this was a good week for me to take a break. I feel like I may have taken a break a few weeks back, but this was good.

So today’s post will actually be a recipe. For the past six months (maybe longer, I’m not sure), I’ve had a half bag of frozen hash browns sitting in my freezer. D and I have tried making actual hash browns, but the mess of it is really off-putting. I hate making them. I’ve seen this recipe around the internet, and have glanced quickly at the instructions, but since I don’t like instructions, I decided just to have at it myself. They ended up coming out like mini versions of my Dad’s “Boy Scout breakfast,” which is this rich layered breakfast of sausage patties, eggs, hash browns, cheese, and butter. It’s cooked outside in a Dutch Oven, loaded up with these ingredients, and it’s not healthy, but it’s delicious. I won’t even say what the amount is. I haven’t done a calorie calculation for this, mostly because I wasn’t measuring yesterday and I’m pretty lazy.

After a quick Google search, found this website if you want to learn more about outdoor cooking with a Dutch Oven. One of the pictures on this home page actually looks like a classic Boy Scout Breakfast.

Before digging into what I did, here are my recommendations and what I’ll be doing next time.

1. Mix something in. If you’re doing the scrambled version, I would do veggies, meat, anything to mix it up. I think next time, the scrambled versions will include some crumbled bacon, sundried tomatoes, peppers, onions. The over-easy version will probably include some kind of sausage patty (for D; I’m not a fan of sausage).

2. Write down what I did, including amounts and ingredients, so that I can figure out nutritional information for this!

3. Once frozen hash browns are gone, buy refrigerator hash browns (it’ll be easier, and less time consuming).

Alright, and here we go:

1. Frozen hash browns needed to be thawed out. This took a little bit – thus, why using fresh or a refrigerated brand would work best.

From this point, it probably took 30 minutes to thaw out. I didn't use that whole block, probably half. Good thing I had work to do!

From this point, it probably took 30 minutes to thaw out. I didn’t use that whole block, probably half. Good thing I had work to do!

2. Once thawed out, I sprayed my muffin tins so that they wouldn’t stick and preheated the oven to 400. The bottoms did end up sticking once I took them out, so I’m not sure what the solution is. After spraying, I pressed about 2 tablespoons of hash browns into the bottom of each one, and topped with about 1 teaspoon of butter. The hash browns cooked in the oven for about 15 minutes.
Hash browns before the oven.

Hash browns before the oven.

Penny was obviously helping me.
my helper
3. After cooking in the oven, I topped the hash browns with a little cheese. Some of the hash browns were covered with scrambled eggs (think 3 scrambled eggs for five muffin tins), and some were covered with regular cracked eggs. I threw these in the oven again, and cooked for about 15-20 minutes. 15 minutes is probably more appropriate, but you’ll want to check. I would do probably 15 minutes for the regular eggs, especially if you like over easy, and 17 minutes for the scrambled version.
I didn't get a picture of it after I added raw eggs, prior to cooking; I'm sure you can use your imagination.

I didn’t get a picture of it after I added raw eggs, prior to cooking; I’m sure you can use your imagination.

And viola! Pretty delicious, if you ask me.
Crappy lighting and my lack of Photoshop skills don't do this any justice.

Crappy lighting and my lack of Photoshop skills don’t do this any justice.

Leave a Reply

