Sunday January 27, 2013

This week, all of my workouts were swims – Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, and Sunday.

Unfortunately, I didn’t up working out Monday or Tuesday. On those days, I was visiting my parents in northern Wisconsin. I had packed two sets of running clothes, knowing that I could either run inside (my parents recently purchased a treadmill) or I could run outside.

Both days, the high in Phillips was below zero – so I sure wasn’t running outside!

When I arrived on Sunday, I did run on the treadmill at my parents – and decided it was a little weird. My dad had purchased the treadmill for my mom, who walks on it during the day. With limited mobility after four hip replacements, it was a great gift for my mom so that she could continue to exercise and hopefully bring back some  mobility and flexibility. For me to run on it, my dad had to move it in front of the TV – so I was running in front of my parents, my sister, and my 2-year-old niece running around like a little monkey. After that, I decided I didn’t want to do it anymore – plus, by not working out, I got to spend that much more time snuggling my 3-month-old niece.

My Thursday swim was not a masters practice swim – it was one I did on my own. On Tuesdays and Thursdays, my goal for these “solo” swims is to practice more on non-free strokes: breaststroke, backstroke, butterfly. Masters practices are great practices for freestyle, and I need to be careful with breaststroke so I don’t re-injure my knees. After taking such a long break after high school, I don’t want to be back at that level.

Today, I had a chance to see what kind of shape I really am in – my first masters swim meet. I swam the 100 breaststroke, 500 freestyle (triathlon training), and the 50 freestyle. At the meet, I also ended up swimming a 200 free relay (50 yards each) and a 400 free relay (100 yards each). To my surprise, most of my times were around the same as in high school, or faster.

  • 100 breaststroke: 1:15.19
  • 500 freestyle: 6:20.54
  • 50 freestyle: 28.20
  • 100 freestyle (as the lead on the 400 relay, I got to see what my time would really be if I raced it solo): 1:00.69

So in total, my swims this week added up to 4.49 miles swam – bringing my grand totals to:

  • Swim: 78.5 miles
  • Bike: 73 miles
  • Run: 140 miles

Next up for the evening: planning a little bit ahead for the week’s workouts! Work will be busy this week, so it’ll be helpful to figure out the best times to work out.

Leave a Reply

