Wednesday, September 26, 2012

Apparently I live above a club now. The downstairs neighbors are blasting their bass and club music at 10:00 at night. Lucky for them, I’m currently in the process of making dinner and plan on working on my sister’s tattoo drawing for a few hours. Unlucky for them, I’m also riled up and full of angry that I may take a broom – or something heavier – and slam my floor if this crap don’t stop by the time I go to bed. And let’s be honest – every beat I hear is making me more and more angry.

Today was a weird day, but I did manage to get a workout in – barely. There are benefits and disadvantages to working at home. One benefit is that I get to wear my pajamas and hang out with my cat. How can you not love that? Plus, I have access to all my food, and don’t have to pack up  a lunch. But the disadvantage lies in the fact that…it sort of breaks up my day. And makes it really hard for me to get motivated to go to the gym and swim.

Today started as a normal day – well, sort of. We had to bring D to purchase a replacement car (I’m not going to call it new as it has almost 150K miles on it), so I didn’t get into work until 10. Around 3, I got a Facebook notification about my 23-month-old niece from my sister – for the second day in a row, she was throwing a fit about wanting to Skype with me. How can you not love that?! So I decided I would go home, Skype for a little bit, work a few more hours, and get in the pool around 8:30. It worked out well, as D wasn’t going to be coming over until late anyway – and it’s really hard for me to leave and go to the gym when he’s here.

Well, I almost didn’t go. 8:00 rolled around, I finished working (I almost didn’t start when I got home) and I didn’t want to. I didn’t want to go outside, I didn’t want to jump in the cold pool, and I just didn’t want to be there. It was not a good day in general, and it was not what I wanted to do. So I put it up to fate – if my friend (who lives across the street) was awake and around, I wouldn’t go. And I would get some of this anger off my chest. If she didn’t respond…off to the pool. Well – she didn’t respond. And as fate would have it, the pool was extraordinarily warm – 86 degrees instead of 82 or 83! For people who aren’t familiar with pool temps, 82/83 is the normal pool temperature – you know, where the pool feels freezing? Yea, it’s just that the air is that warm. And 3 degrees might not make a difference, but it makes a huge difference. It’s sort of like going for a run on a real muggy, hot summer day. You just can’t breath, you feel sluggish. But I embraced it and enjoyed it today.

I ended up swimming another triathlon workout – 1900 yards. With some slight modifications, it was good. Additionally, fate also won in the fact that the Master’s coach (I jumped in near the end of their workout) stayed late, so I was able to ask him a few questions about joining. Basically, I just start coming.

Maybe next week.

 

Moral of the story: Late night workouts suck. And so do kicking drills.

Leave a Reply

